It’s not just the UK, there’s a Russian Commonwealth: which countries are its members?

Negara Anggota Persemakmuran Rusia

The British Commonwealth is in the spotlight after King Charles III ascended to the throne. But besides Britain, there is also the Russian Commonwealth. Named the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), the origins of this alliance actually date back to the Russian Empire.

However, the CIS, an alliance of countries, was only formed in December 1991, after the Soviet Union collapsed. The Russian Commonwealth member states that their relationship is based on sovereign equality.

They are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.

Two years after its formation, the leaders of the CIS countries signed an Agreement on the establishment of an Economic Union to jointly provide economic space. The agreement was formed based on services, free markets, taxes, prices, capital, labor and customs.

To facilitate this integration, in 1995 four CIS members made an agreement on deepening integration in the economic and humanitarian fields. The four countries are Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia.

On the other hand, Belarus and Russia also made an agreement on the establishment of the Commonwealth Republic by establishing a corresponding coordinating body. Coordination of CIS members is done through cooperative institutions.

These include the Inter-State Bank, the Anti-Terror Center, the Inter-State Council for Metrology and Standardization Certification and the Inter-State Committee.

There is also an Inter-State Council that deals with Emergencies of Natural and Anthropogenic Character. The Inter-State Council on Antimonopoly Policy, the CIS member states’ coordination Council on Information under the Regional Commonwealth on Communications, and the Electric Energy Council.

Other branches of cooperation include the Inter-Country Council on the Use of Aviation and Airspace and the Commonwealth Heads of Customs Services Council.

See also: The History of the Russian vs. Ukraine conflict that is now heating up

Advantages of Member Countries of the Russian Commonwealth

There are several benefits to being a member of the Commonwealth of Russia, including access to projects in Russia, the United States, the United Kingdom, the Middle East and Southeast Asia. Members also get quick responses to conflicts. According to a statement on the official website, CIS experts are ready to collect and provide information for 24 hours.

“We are building secure data centers and forensic laboratories in Russia and Europe to process, analyze and host customer data in accordance with data protection laws,” the CIS statement read.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022 LO inc. Media Supported By MASEL Corp

To Top